top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAva Santiago

Doers of the Word

I find it an often occurance that friends come to me for advice and then proceed to do the exact opposite. Have you ever been in a similar situation? Where a friend is struggling with things or making a decision, possibly overthinking, and they come to you for input. You give your perspective and urge them to follow your advice, and the next day they come to tell you what they ended up doing and it had nothing to do with what you said!!


Or - I work at a little shop downtown that sells food- and when new customers come in they ask what I like on the menu or what's good to get, and then they proceed to get something I did not even mention. (sometimes a good option, but most often the item on the menu that's not too good) I wonder why do people ask for an opinion when they are not going to heed the advice or even consider it?


I find it can be quite frustrating when I take the time to listen to friends and give solid advice, for them to do the exact opposite and end up in a worse situation. Then, once in a deeper situation they complain even more and regret ever making the decision.


When reflecting on these circumstances, it reminds me that this is a much similar situation to what is common to see in the church today. Often times we open our Bible and get our daily reading in, and then act as if we had never even opened the book. We read the truths and wisdom found in the Word of God without even heeding its direction. And we wonder why we're so frustrated or stressed sometimes because we're reading to read and not allowing God to transform us through His word, which is living and alive.


Now don't get me wrong, I am guilty of this too, but recently I feel the Lord stirring in my heart with new desires and passions to live anew. I am tired of the routine of being in my word and forgetting what I read in the morning halfway through the day. I want a genuine, intentional relationship with the Lord and not a checkmark off the task list. I want to be in His presence the entire day and not just when I remember.


Jesus mentions in Luke how his true family "are those who hear God's word and put it into practice" (Luke 8:19-21). He urges us to not just be hearers of the word, but doers.


I challenge you to allow the word to transform your everyday routine, your life, your mindset, your thoughts, your prayers. May His spirit cultivate your heart and its motives. May His voice not just go in one ear and out the other, but may it plant seeds in your heart guiding your every step.


Don't be that friend who wastes time getting advice that they're not going to follow, but instead heed the truths of God. Stop looking at the Bible of suggestions of how to live and instead put it into practice by following through with the commands of God and see how the Lord begins to move and work. Experience His peace by trusting in Him and not worrying about tomorrow. Put to death fleshly instincts and take up the character of Jesus who calls us to love. Love without conditions. Forgive. Have grace and patience. Just watch and see how much more peaceful and FRUITFUL your life becomes.


I pray the Lord transforms your quiet time with him and teaches you how to truly live free in Him.




God bless,

Ava :)

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page